/ / Steak Hot Dogs (Beef Franks)

Steak Hot Dogs (Beef Franks)

Contains sodium nitrite

These fully cooked beef franks are made in Chicago by a family-owned producer. Each link has 900 mg sodium and the ingredients include corn syrup, natural flavors and sodium nitrite.

Seed-oil freeNo artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo gums or thickenersNo gluten ingredientsLow sugarContains dairyContains corn
$19.35 1.5 lb · lowest price at Meat N' Bone
Price and stock checked Oct 29, 2026
Key nutrition facts
240caloriesPer serving · 1 Link (91g)
Protein
12g▼
Fiber
0g
Added sugar
0g
Sodium
900mg
Saturated fat
7g▼
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: Beef, water, corn syrup, nonfat dry milk, salt, vinegar, dextrose, spices, natural flavors, sodium phosphates, sodium erythorbate, sodium nitrite
49 / 100
Poor Scored automatically
Weighted as processed meatHigh confidence · Scored on 10 of 11 inputs, 1 claim verified
Nutrition · counts 20%67
Ingredients · counts 25%51
Processing · counts 25%30
Sourcing · counts 15%50
Transparency · counts 15%50
Why it scores 49
Nutrition 67 · Compared with other processed meats: less protein (12 g), more saturated fat (7 g); no added sugar per 1 Link
Ingredients 51 · Corn syrup, 3rd ingredient (added sugar, −20); Sodium or potassium nitrite (additive, −15); Added phosphates (additive, −10); 1 more
Processing 30 · Beef franks with corn syrup, natural flavors, phosphates and nitrite.
Sourcing 50 · Made in Chicago; the beef's farm and raising practices aren't stated.
Transparency 50 · Full ingredient list, but spices and natural flavors are not specified.
Contains corn syrup
Contains natural flavors
Contains sodium nitrite
900 mg sodium per link
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−20 for corn syrup
Varies by additive−29 for sodium or potassium nitrite, added phosphates, natural flavours
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Similar, for lessSame kind of food, scoring about as well or better, for less than $0.81/oz here
Southwest Beef DirectSmoked Uncured All Beef Hot Dogs (4/1Pk)
68+19
$4.35 · $0.27/oz · 66% less per oz
Ingredients
Beef Water Corn syrup Nonfat dry milk Salt Vinegar Dextrose Spices Natural flavors Sodium phosphates Sodium erythorbate Sodium nitrite
12 ingredients 2 to watch3 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives4 additives · 1 high risk
Sodium or potassium nitrite (E250, E249)PreservativeHigh risk
Can form nitrosamines in cured meat; IARC classifies processed meat as carcinogenic (Group 1), with nitrites a likely contributor.
Added phosphates (E339–E343, E450–E452)StabiliserModerate risk
Absorbed more readily than natural phosphorus; high intakes are linked to kidney and heart risks, and EFSA set a limit in 2019.
Natural flavoursFlavouringLimited risk
An undisclosed mix of extracts and carriers; the label doesn’t say what’s in it or how it was made.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other beef options

Full Circle Sustainability
Beef - Short Ribs
96 $38.70
Full Circle Sustainability
Bison - Filet Mignon
96 $13.65
Alderspring Ranch Provisions
Organic Grass Fed Regenerative Ground Beef
95 $16.70
Kolikof® Caviar & Gourmet
Grass-Fed Wagyu – Filet Mignon
95 $47.00