/ / Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free Cornbread Mix 20oz

Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free Cornbread Mix 20oz

Contains cane sugar

A gluten-free cornbread mix made with whole-grain cornmeal and sorghum. It contains cane sugar and xanthan gum, with 3 g added sugar per 31 g serving.

Seed-oil freeNo artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo natural flavorsNo synthetic preservativesNo added nitritesGluten-free (label)Dairy-freeContains corn
$4.99 20 oz · lowest price at Something Better Natural Foods
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
110caloriesPer serving · 3 Tbsp mix (31g)
Protein
2g
Fiber
2g
Added sugar
3g▼
Sodium
290mg▼
Saturated fat
0g
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: Whole Grain Cornmeal, Potato Starch, Whole Grain Sorghum Flour, Cane Sugar, Whole Grain Corn Flour, Tapioca Flour, Baking Soda (Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate, Sodium Bicarbonate), Monocalcium Phosphate, Salt, Xanthan Gum
On Open Food FactsNutri-Score DNOVA 4Ultra-processed foodTheir grades, for reference; not part of our score. Data: Open Food Facts (ODbL).
59 / 100
Fair Scored automatically
Weighted as grain productsHigh confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 35%49
Ingredients · counts 20%82
Processing · counts 15%60
Sourcing · counts 15%45
Transparency · counts 15%65
Why it scores 59
Nutrition 49 · Compared with other grain foods: more sodium (290 mg), more whole grain (60%); 3 g added sugar per 3 Tbsp mix
Ingredients 82 · Added phosphates (additive, −10); Cane sugar, 4th ingredient (added sugar, −8); no dyes or artificial sweeteners
Processing 60 · Whole-grain flours with starch, sugar, leaveners and xanthan gum.
Sourcing 45 · Grain and starch origins are not stated; the mix includes cane sugar and potato starch.
Transparency 65 · Complete ingredient list; no specific growing or sourcing claims.
3 g added sugar
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−8 for cane sugar
Varies by additive−10 for added phosphates
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Whole Grain Cornmeal Potato Starch Whole Grain Sorghum Flour Cane Sugar Whole Grain Corn Flour Tapioca Flour Baking Soda (Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate, Sodium Bicarbonate) Monocalcium Phosphate Salt Xanthan Gum
10 ingredients 3 to watch2 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives3 additives · 1 moderate risk
Added phosphates (E339–E343, E450–E452)StabiliserModerate risk
Absorbed more readily than natural phosphorus; high intakes are linked to kidney and heart risks, and EFSA set a limit in 2019.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Xanthan gum (E415)ThickenerNo risk
Made by fermentation; EFSA re-confirmed its safety in 2017, though large amounts can cause bloating.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98