/ / Krakauer Schaller & Weber

Krakauer Schaller & Weber

Contains sodium nitrite

This ready-to-eat pork sausage has a complete ingredient list and is labeled Product of USA. It contains sodium nitrite, sodium phosphate and 570 mg of sodium per serving.

Seed-oil freeNo artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo gums or thickenersNo gluten ingredientsDairy-freeLow sugar
$10.78 4 oz–approx. 3 lb · lowest price at Cured and Cultivated
Price and stock checked Oct 29, 2026
Key nutrition facts
160caloriesPer serving · 2 oz (56g)
Protein
10g▼
Fiber
0g
Added sugar
0g
Sodium
570mg
Saturated fat
—
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: Pork, Water, Salt, Dextrose, Flavorings, Spices, Sodium Phosphate, Garlic, Sodium Erythorbate, Sodium Nitrite
60 / 100
Fair Scored automatically
Weighted as processed meatHigh confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs, 1 claim verified
Nutrition · counts 20%72
Ingredients · counts 25%63
Processing · counts 25%50
Sourcing · counts 15%65
Transparency · counts 15%50
Why it scores 60
Nutrition 72 · Compared with other processed meats: less protein (10 g); no added sugar per 2 oz
Ingredients 63 · Sodium or potassium nitrite (additive, −15); Added phosphates (additive, −10); Dextrose, 4th ingredient (added sugar, −8); 1 more
Processing 50 · Pork sausage with dextrose, flavorings and curing additives
Sourcing 65 · Product of USA; how the pork was raised is not stated
Transparency 50 · Full ingredient list includes unspecified flavorings and spices
570 mg sodium per serving
Contains sodium nitrite and sodium phosphate
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−8 for dextrose
Varies by additive−29 for sodium or potassium nitrite, added phosphates, natural flavours
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Pork Water Salt Dextrose Flavorings Spices Sodium Phosphate Garlic Sodium Erythorbate Sodium Nitrite
10 ingredients 2 to watch2 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives4 additives · 1 high risk
Sodium or potassium nitrite (E250, E249)PreservativeHigh risk
Can form nitrosamines in cured meat; IARC classifies processed meat as carcinogenic (Group 1), with nitrites a likely contributor.
Added phosphates (E339–E343, E450–E452)StabiliserModerate risk
Absorbed more readily than natural phosphorus; high intakes are linked to kidney and heart risks, and EFSA set a limit in 2019.
Natural flavoursFlavouringLimited risk
An undisclosed mix of extracts and carriers; the label doesn’t say what’s in it or how it was made.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other snacks options

Be Still Farms- Real, Fine Organics
Organic White Popcorn, Non-GMO, Bulk White Popcorn
98 $22.99
Country Life Natural Foods
Popcorn, Yellow, Organic
98 $18.95
Health Ranger Store
Mega Bucket Organic Yellow Popcorn Kernels (10LB, 4535g)
98 $79.95
Gold Ridge Organic Farms
Edison Grainery Organic Yellow Popcorn 16 oz
98 $6.00