/ / Cheddar

Cheddar

Contains preservatives

It has 0 calories and 80 mg sodium per tablespoon. The formula includes modified potato starch, gums, preservatives and unspecified flavor.

Seed-oil freeNo added sugarNo artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo added nitritesNo phosphatesGluten-free (label)VegetarianContains dairy
$7.99 lowest price at MRS TASTE
Price and stock checked Oct 31, 2026
Key nutrition facts
0caloriesPer serving · 1tbsp (12g)
Protein
0g
Fiber
1g▲
Added sugar
—
Sodium
80mg
Saturated fat
0g
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: Filtered water, polydextrose, cheddar cheese powder (Milk), modified potato starch, Himalayan pink salt, lactase, guar gum, microcrystalline cellulose, carboxymethylcellulose, lactic acid, potassium sorbate and sodium benzoate (as preservative), flavor, stevia extract
64 / 100
Fair Scored automatically
Weighted as ready meals, soups, saucesHigh confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 35%85
Ingredients · counts 25%76
Processing · counts 15%25
Sourcing · counts 10%35
Transparency · counts 15%50
Why it scores 64
Nutrition 85 · Compared with other ready meals and sauces: more fiber (1 g); no added sugar per 1tbsp
Ingredients 76 · Benzoates (sodium benzoate, benzoic acid) (additive, −10); Carboxymethylcellulose (cellulose gum) (additive, −10); Sorbates (potassium sorbate, sorbic acid) (additive, −4)
Processing 25 · Formula includes modified starch, gums, preservatives, flavor and stevia.
Sourcing 35 · No origin or production practices are stated; the formula includes refined starch.
Transparency 50 · Full ingredient list, but the flavor is not specified.
Contains preservatives and gums
Contains modified potato starch
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Varies by additive−24 for benzoates, carboxymethylcellulose, sorbates
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Filtered water Polydextrose Cheddar cheese powder (Milk) Modified potato starch Himalayan pink salt Lactase Guar gum Microcrystalline cellulose Carboxymethylcellulose Lactic acid Potassium sorbate and sodium benzoate (as preservative) Flavor Stevia extract
13 ingredients 4 to watch1 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives7 additives · 2 moderate risk
Benzoates (sodium benzoate, benzoic acid) (E210–E212)PreservativeModerate risk
Can form small amounts of benzene with vitamin C in drinks, and was part of the 2007 UK hyperactivity study mix.
Carboxymethylcellulose (cellulose gum) (E466)ThickenerModerate risk
Changed gut bacteria in mice and, in a small 2022 human study, altered the gut microbiome.
Sorbates (potassium sorbate, sorbic acid) (E200–E203)PreservativeLimited risk
Generally well tolerated; EFSA re-evaluated it in 2015 and kept it approved, though it can irritate sensitive skin.
Modified starch (E14xx)ThickenerLimited risk
Chemically treated starch; considered safe, but a marker of more processed food.
Guar gum (E412)ThickenerNo risk
A fibre from guar beans; EFSA considers it safe at normal intakes.
Lactic acid (E270)AcidNo risk
Made by fermentation; considered safe.
Stevia (steviol glycosides) (E960)SweetenerNo risk
Plant-derived and considered safe by EFSA and the FDA at normal intakes.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98