/ / Original Pita Bread

Original Pita Bread

Contains soybean oil

Each half pita has 90 calories, 4 g protein and 2 g fiber. Made with enriched wheat flour, soybean oil, calcium propionate and xanthan gum.

No artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo natural flavorsNo added nitritesNo phosphatesDairy-freeVegetarianLow sugarContains soyContains wheatContains corn
$3.29 7 in · lowest price at Joseph's Bakery
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
90caloriesPer serving · ½ Pita (39g)
Protein
4g
Fiber
2g
Added sugar
0g
Sodium
115mg
Saturated fat
0g
From the product label
Ingredients: Water, Enriched Wheat Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Malted Barley Flour, Wheat Gluten, Oat Fiber, Potato Flour, Yeast, Soybean Oil, Grape Juice, Rice Syrup, Carrot Fiber, Sugar, Salt, Calcium Propionate, Monoglycerides, Citric Acid, Ascorbic Acid, Calcium Sulfate, Enzymes, Xanthan Gum, L-Cysteine (Plant-based), Corn Starch
On Open Food FactsNutri-Score ANOVA 4Ultra-processed foodTheir grades, for reference; not part of our score. Data: Open Food Facts (ODbL).
60 / 100
Fair Scored automatically
Weighted as grain productsHigh confidence · Scored on 9 of 11 inputs
Nutrition · counts 35%68
Ingredients · counts 20%82
Processing · counts 15%30
Sourcing · counts 15%35
Transparency · counts 15%66
Why it scores 60
Nutrition 68 · Compared with other grain foods: less whole grain (0%); no added sugar per ½ Pita
Ingredients 82 · Soybean oil, 8th ingredient (seed oil, −10, ClearShelf standard); Calcium propionate (additive, −4); Mono- and diglycerides (additive, −4)
Processing 30 · Enriched flour bread with soybean oil, preservatives and xanthan gum
Sourcing 35 · Refined wheat flour and soybean oil are listed; sourcing is not stated
Transparency 66 · Complete ingredient list and nutrition values, with no sourcing claims
Contains soybean oil
Contains calcium propionate
Contains xanthan gum
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Varies by additive−8 for calcium propionate, mono- and diglycerides
ClearShelf standard−10 for soybean oil · our house standard, not a medical claim
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Water Enriched Wheat Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid) Malted Barley Flour Wheat Gluten Oat Fiber Potato Flour Yeast Soybean Oil Grape Juice Rice Syrup Carrot Fiber Sugar Salt Calcium Propionate Monoglycerides Citric Acid Ascorbic Acid Calcium Sulfate Enzymes Xanthan Gum L-Cysteine (Plant-based) Corn Starch
22 ingredients 4 to watch2 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives9 additives · 1 moderate risk
Brown rice syrupAdded sugarModerate risk
Added sugar that can contain notable arsenic, as a 2012 Dartmouth study of products made with it found.
Calcium propionate (E282)PreservativeLimited risk
Common bread preservative; a 2019 human study found it raised insulin-related hormones after a meal.
Seed oilFatLimited risk
ClearShelf standard: we lower the Ingredients score when seed oils are used. This is our house standard, not a medical claim. Research is mixed; major health groups have not found harm at typical intakes.
Mono- and diglycerides (E471)EmulsifierLimited risk
Can carry traces of trans fat; a 2023 French cohort study associated higher intake with heart disease.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Refined (enriched or bleached) flourRefined grainLimited risk
Bran and germ are removed, so it’s low in fibre; some vitamins are added back.
Xanthan gum (E415)ThickenerNo risk
Made by fermentation; EFSA re-confirmed its safety in 2017, though large amounts can cause bloating.
Citric acid (E330)AcidNo risk
Usually made by fermentation; considered safe.
Ascorbic acid (vitamin C) (E300)AntioxidantNo risk
Vitamin C, used to keep colour and freshness; safe.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other pantry options

Sandhill Wild Rice
Sandhill Organic Wild Rice
98 $132.00
Fresh Acres
Organic Rye Berries
98 $11.39
Barton Springs Mill
Sonora Wheat Berries (certified organic)
98 $12.00
Everywhere
Lundberg Wild Rice, Regenerative Organic Certified –?100% Natural California Cultivated Wild Black Rice, 8 Oz
98 $15.98