/ / Kickass Sausage and Cheddar Snack Sticks - 21CT

Kickass Sausage and Cheddar Snack Sticks - 21CT

Contains sodium nitrite

Sausage and cheddar sticks provide 12 g of protein per serving. They contain sodium nitrite, Red 3, corn syrup solids and MSG, and the label states they contain soy and milk.

Seed-oil freeNo artificial flavorsNo gums or thickenersKetoContains dairyContains soyContains wheatContains corn
$47.00 21 ct · lowest price at Kickass Snacks Inc.
Price and stock checked Oct 30, 2026
Key nutrition facts
170caloriesPer serving · 1.5 oz (43g)
Protein
12g
Fiber
0g
Added sugar
—
Sodium
670mg▼
Saturated fat
6g▼
▲ raises the score · ▼ lowers it · From the product label
Ingredients: Pork, beef, salt, corn syrup solids, natural smoke flavorings, citric acid, spice, monosodium glutamate, garlic, sodium phosphate, sodium erythorbate, soy sauce, water, soybeans, salt, sodium nitrite, caramel, annatto, Red 3, cheddar cheese, milk, cheese cultures, salt, enzymes, water, sodium phosphate, calcium propionate, apocarotenal
39 / 100
Poor Scored automatically
Weighted as processed meatHigh confidence · Scored on 10 of 11 inputs, 1 claim verified
Nutrition · counts 20%35
Ingredients · counts 25%36
Processing · counts 25%30
Sourcing · counts 15%50
Transparency · counts 15%55
Why it scores 39
Nutrition 35 · Compared with other processed meats: more sodium (670 mg), more saturated fat (6 g) per 1.5 oz
Ingredients 36 · Red 3 (synthetic dye, −15); Sodium or potassium nitrite (additive, −15); Added phosphates (additive, −10); 5 more
Processing 30 · Sausage and cheese with corn syrup solids, flavorings, nitrite and color additives
Sourcing 50 · The brand says products are made in the US; meat-raising practices aren't stated
Transparency 55 · Full ingredient list, but smoke flavorings and spice are not specified
Contains sodium nitrite and Red 3
Contains corn syrup solids and MSG
670 mg sodium per serving
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Strong evidence−8 for corn syrup solids
Moderate, evolving−15 for red 3
Varies by additive−41 for sodium or potassium nitrite, added phosphates, annatto and 3 more
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Pork Beef Salt Corn syrup solids Natural smoke flavorings Citric acid Spice Monosodium glutamate Garlic Sodium phosphate Sodium erythorbate Soy sauce Water Soybeans Salt Sodium nitrite Caramel Annatto Red 3 Cheddar cheese Milk Cheese cultures Salt Enzymes Water Sodium phosphate Calcium propionate Apocarotenal
28 ingredients 2 to watch4 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives9 additives · 2 high risk
Red 3 (erythrosine) (E127)ColourHigh risk
The FDA revoked its use in food in 2025 (effective 2027) after it caused thyroid tumours in male rats.
Sodium or potassium nitrite (E250, E249)PreservativeHigh risk
Can form nitrosamines in cured meat; IARC classifies processed meat as carcinogenic (Group 1), with nitrites a likely contributor.
Added phosphates (E339–E343, E450–E452)StabiliserModerate risk
Absorbed more readily than natural phosphorus; high intakes are linked to kidney and heart risks, and EFSA set a limit in 2019.
Annatto (E160b)ColourLimited risk
Plant-based colour from achiote seeds; generally safe, but can occasionally cause allergic reactions.
Calcium propionate (E282)PreservativeLimited risk
Common bread preservative; a 2019 human study found it raised insulin-related hormones after a meal.
Natural flavoursFlavouringLimited risk
An undisclosed mix of extracts and carriers; the label doesn’t say what’s in it or how it was made.
MSG (monosodium glutamate) (E621)Flavour enhancerLimited risk
Considered safe; EFSA set an acceptable daily intake in 2017, and some people report short-lived symptoms.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Citric acid (E330)AcidNo risk
Usually made by fermentation; considered safe.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other snacks options

Be Still Farms- Real, Fine Organics
Organic White Popcorn, Non-GMO, Bulk White Popcorn
98 $22.99
Country Life Natural Foods
Popcorn, Yellow, Organic
98 $18.95
Health Ranger Store
Mega Bucket Organic Yellow Popcorn Kernels (10LB, 4535g)
98 $79.95
Gold Ridge Organic Farms
Edison Grainery Organic Yellow Popcorn 16 oz
98 $6.00