/ / A la Carte All American Breakfast Sausage (13oz)

A la Carte All American Breakfast Sausage (13oz)

Contains sunflower oil

This plant-based breakfast sausage uses vital wheat gluten and soy-based ingredients, with a spicy, smoky flavor. It also contains sunflower oil, natural flavor and sodium benzoate; the brand says its plant-based meats are made in small batches.

No artificial dyesNo artificial flavorsNo added nitritesNo phosphatesNo gums or thickenersDairy-freeContains soyContains wheatContains fish
$16.99 13 oz · lowest price at The Herbivorous Butcher
Price and stock checked Oct 29, 2026
Key nutrition facts

Not available yet. We only show numbers printed on the product’s label or its product page, and we couldn’t read them for this product.

Ingredients: Water, vital wheat gluten, soy sauce (water, soybeans, wheat, salt, sodium benzoate), beef-free broth (tamari soy sauce (water, organic soybeans, salt, organic alcohol), Worcestershire sauce (apple cider vinegar, tamari soy sauce (water, organic soybeans, salt, organic alcohol), water, brown sugar, molasses, orange juice, lemon juice, garlic powder, onion powder, Dijon mustard, liquid smoke, spices, black pepper), natural flavor, sunflower oil, garlic powder, onion powder, spices, black pepper)
50 / 100
Fair Scored automatically
Weighted as plant-based alternativesLow confidence · Scored on 3 of 11 inputs, 2 claims verified
Nutrition facts not available. Scored on its ingredients, processing, sourcing and transparency; the Nutrition part is neutral until we can read the label.Your product? Claim this listing to add the label and it’s scored in full.
Nutrition · counts 35%50
Ingredients · counts 20%76
Processing · counts 15%30
Sourcing · counts 15%35
Transparency · counts 15%50
Why it scores 50
Nutrition 50 · No nutrition facts available; scored mid-range
Ingredients 76 · Sunflower oil, 4th ingredient (seed oil, −10, ClearShelf standard); Benzoates (sodium benzoate, benzoic acid) (additive, −10); Natural flavours (additive, −4)
Processing 30 · Wheat gluten, natural flavor, sunflower oil and sodium benzoate make this a formulated meat alternative.
Sourcing 35 · Refined wheat, soy and sunflower ingredients are used; their origins are not stated.
Transparency 50 · Ingredients are listed, but natural flavor and spices are not specified.
Contains sunflower oil
Contains sodium benzoate
Contains natural flavor
Evidence behind the Ingredients deductions
Varies by additive−14 for benzoates, natural flavours
ClearShelf standard−10 for sunflower oil · our house standard, not a medical claim
Scored Oct 20, 2026 · Scoring guide v3.1 · Updated Oct 20, 2026 · See what changed

Your diet score

Doesn’t change the score above

Pick a diet to see if this product fits it, using limits you can change.

Diet profiles v1.1. Defaults come from published guidance; you can change any limit. How the diet score works

Ingredients
Water Vital wheat gluten Soy sauce (water, soybeans, wheat, salt, sodium benzoate) Beef-free broth (tamari soy sauce (water, organic soybeans, salt, organic alcohol) Worcestershire sauce (apple cider vinegar Tamari soy sauce (water, organic soybeans, salt, organic alcohol), water, brown sugar, molasses, orange juice, lemon juice, garlic powder, onion powder, Dijon mustard, liquid smoke, spices, black pepper), natural flavor, sunflower oil, garlic powder, onion powder, spices, black pepper)
6 ingredients 1 to watch2 to avoid
Sourcing

Origin not disclosed on the product page.

Additives4 additives · 1 moderate risk
Benzoates (sodium benzoate, benzoic acid) (E210–E212)PreservativeModerate risk
Can form small amounts of benzene with vitamin C in drinks, and was part of the 2007 UK hyperactivity study mix.
Seed oilFatLimited risk
ClearShelf standard: we lower the Ingredients score when seed oils are used. This is our house standard, not a medical claim. Research is mixed; major health groups have not found harm at typical intakes.
Natural flavoursFlavouringLimited risk
An undisclosed mix of extracts and carriers; the label doesn’t say what’s in it or how it was made.
Added sugarSugarLimited risk
Added sugar; the WHO and the US Dietary Guidelines advise keeping added sugars under 10% of daily calories.
Matched from the ingredient list. Risk levels summarise findings from EFSA, the FDA, IARC and published studies; they explain a concern, not a diagnosis.

Other snacks options

Be Still Farms- Real, Fine Organics
Organic White Popcorn, Non-GMO, Bulk White Popcorn
98 $22.99
Country Life Natural Foods
Popcorn, Yellow, Organic
98 $18.95
Health Ranger Store
Mega Bucket Organic Yellow Popcorn Kernels (10LB, 4535g)
98 $79.95
Gold Ridge Organic Farms
Edison Grainery Organic Yellow Popcorn 16 oz
98 $6.00